To You;

Dear former Friend,

I feel that it is time to set the record straight. I don’t like to do this, because it’s very high school. But there seems to be some bitterness about why I chose to let our friendship go. So let’s clear some things up. I didn’t stop being friends with you because you are an addict. That’s not the truth..

We’ve known each other since we were in elementary school. You’re a part of my family, so I really couldn’t shake you if I tried. I’ve spent a lot of time worrying about you and your wellness, and forgetting about my own wellness. So before you continue to throw dirt on me and my name. Understand, that I am the same person who helped saved your life more than once.
I am the same person who gave you advice and resources.
It is unfair to asks people to take value and invest in your life when you stop investing in yourself. And I get addiction, we all have them. Mine, is sex and an occasional drinking. So I can’t judge you. However, it is completely unfair for you to disappear for days without a phone call or text message to say that you are okay. The people who actually love you are worried that you are somewhere dead from an overdose, or maybe even worse.
So there were many times when my sister and I were on the phone crying and hoping you were okay… just to get a phone call from you admitting to your relapse as if it were no big deal…
Forgiven…. I understand how this works. It is a process. Steps and shit is involved in healing. Got it.

But even after you came back to Jersey, I was here for you. But the disappearance acts were too much to take. But the outrage came when you made fun of my sisters illness. That was completely unforgivable. I don’t care about how you treat your addiction, but you will not laugh at my sisters illness, the same way I never made jokes about your grandmothers death.. also
If I ask you not to do something and you continue to do it… I have the right as a grown man not to deal with it. And so even after I stopped talking to you I asked a few clients who are former addicts how to deal with the situation. The feedback was that you needed to find your own way. And so, it seems that you shall.. and you have.. and that’s great. I am happy for you.

However, causing a scene in front of people instead of sitting down and acting like an adult was very… Housewives of Atlanta of you. I don’t do scenes, and so I left. Not my thing. Not sorry! That made it easier for me to walk away.
And so it stands, we are not friends anymore. So it wouldn’t surprise me if you decided to leak a lot of my business… you’ve done it before. It just went to show that you were never really a friend, friends don’t break the friendship code even after the friendship is it’s over. Yet you are forgiven.

I will not say anything negative about you.. I’m a grown ass man with things to do… I’m above all of that. I will not wish you harm, I wish you well… and I wish that you have friends who worried and prayed for your health the way my family did. Until then…
“it’s something unpredictable but in the end it’s right. I hope you had the time of your life. ”

Good riddance
J

Leave a Reply

